top of page

11-Pastor Thompson’s Response

Updated: Nov 30, 2022




There’s a common notion in social and commercial organizations that seems to be exaggerated in Christian counterparts, namely, keep it positive, no matter what! So, when it comes to problems, many people go into denial and put as much distance as possible between them and those who are “negative;“ anything to keep it positive. Hence, the following response from then, soon to be senior pastor of Ashburn Baptist Church.



 


August 23, 2018


Thomas,


I sincerely wish no ill will toward you, but your issues with your father are family matters and have nothing to do with me. It does not help your cause to continually barrage all of our staff and deacons from Ashburn and Armitage. It only makes you come across as slanderous and vengeful.


If most of our staff and deacons have not done so already, I will encourage them to spam your emails, as I am going to do.  


Again, I have no part in your complaint, and respectfully ask you to exclude me from any more communication on this matter.


For the Gospel,

Tommy Thompson

Pastor

Ashburn Baptist Church

www.ashburnbaptist.com


 


My response (for his spam)



Thank you for responding. It’s better than being ignored. 


Frankly I feel for you. I wouldn’t wish this nightmare upon anyone. I would have liked to warned you before you made the huge move [from Florida] to Chicago, but now you are here and as discussed in the article I sent, denying reality is never better than facing it head on. 


I’ve forgiven you for thinking I’m vengefully motivated. You don’t know me except for my very pointed communications. My father and brothers know I have not had vengeance toward anyone in my life. And I don’t now! They also know I’m honest. And the truth of what I’ve shared is not being questioned. They have had ample opportunity to correct me and NO ONE has. So that leaves me to conclude that the facts I’ve presented can’t be refuted...or I’m not worth correcting. 


Tom Lyons


 



57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog Posts
bottom of page