top of page

12-Still Listening!!

Updated: Nov 30, 2022


From: THOMAS LYONS <thoslyons@att.net>

Sent: Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:37 PM

To: Charles Lyons <charles.lyons@armitagechurch.org

Subject: I’m still listening


Dear Charles,


You asked me a question early last year that I answered in three separate letters over a period of months. To date you have given no response. How is this silence justified? Perhaps unrelated, these past months you were given time [mandated leave of absence from ministry] to do spiritual reflection, repentance and renewal. Can I ask why as a part of this process you have not thought it needful to consider your relationship with me? The least you should do is respond to my rather thorough analysis of Dad’s behavior and the challenges [seven questions] that I directed to you to say nothing of the obvious personal offense that is implied in all of this. Am I no better than a dog next door that you just need to tune out? That’s how it feels.


Here are three reasons why I feel you need to respond. Basic respect requires it. The matter is hugely consequential. Your (or my) spiritual health is at stake.


I do not want a sit down talk with you. I want written, thoughtful responses to each of the issues and questions raised. I can resend the letters if need be.


Serving Christ & loving you,


Tom


 

On Feb 2, 2019, at 8:53 AM, Charles Lyons <Charles.Lyons@armitagechurch.org> wrote:


Tom, I really would like to sit down and ask a couple things.  I'm much more a verbal, face to face guy. Could I take you to breakfast or lunch? Love charles


 

From:THOMAS LYONS <thoslyons@att.net>

Date:February 2, 2019 at 10:46:25 AM CST

To:Charles Lyons <Charles.Lyons@armitagechurch.org>

Cc:Steve Laughlin <Steve.Laughlin@armitagechurch.org>, jeremy.crowe@armitagechurch.org, Leandro Gomez <leandro.gomez@armitagechurch.org>

Subject:Re: I’m still listening


Dear Charles,


Thank you for getting back to me in less than three weeks. This is quite an improvement. However, I am not willing to answer any questions from you till you...”respond to my rather thorough analysis of Dad’s behavior and the challenges that I directed to you...”


Furthermore, although I too am a “face to face guy,” I am looking to rebuild a foundation that has been destroyed while pretenses of love, engagement and “listening” were purposely on display. We can’t use anything that can be faked to build the trust that has been destroyed.


My goal is to clarify the truth, encourage you and others to relate to it and see relationships solidly anchored in it. Writing makes one more thoughtful, careful and accountable. These all serve to establish the truth that we so desperately need as our foundation. Therefore, please respect my wishes, namely, ”I do not want a sit down talk with you. I want written, thoughtful responses to each of the issues and questions raised.” I believe this is essential to building the trust that is needed for a deep and enduring relationship.


In Christ we are one. Aligning with truth is fundamental to aligning with Christ, who is Truth.  So, by pressing you to relate to the truth, I’m actually calling you back to Christ, where we are one.


Pursuing Christ, truth and you,


Tom


P. S. Let me know if you need last years letters for reference








87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog Posts
bottom of page