top of page
  • Writer's picturetom lyons

Gaslighting




When what you thought was real proves to be a staged show and your proclamation of your discovery leaves you maligned and ostracized, you want, —no, you hunger, for understanding, answers, light for this darkness. You want absolute truth. Only the Scriptures can give that.


I was told, “It’s gaslighting. They are playing with your mind. They want you to think you’re the problem. You’re to blame.” I know there’s a history to the term, but gaslighting is mentioned nowhere in the Bible. It doesn’t resonate with my soul in a way that strengthens my resolve. It surely rings true to my experience. But Moses, David, Jesus or Paul have no advise specifically for victims of “gaslighting.” How could something so devastating, so life shattering, so disorienting not be addressed in the book that says it is “a light to my path?”


I said as much to the Lord, and immediately Jesus’ words came to mind. “Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew‬ ‭5:10‬ ‭

Thank you Lord for these words! Persecution, it’s when those who are wrong do the correcting. It’s when blame, accusation and even punishment is leveled at the victim, the innocent, the righteous, the whistle blower, the prophet. You can say it’s gaslighting, but I like persecution. It has a reward. Jesus is monitoring every one who’s suffering for doing right. He has to, because He promised a reward for them. “Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great; for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭5:12‬ ‭


Pity the persecutors, not me! Their sense of satisfaction will be short lived. My pain is temporary and my reward eternal. Did He say “Blessed?” Yes! Persecution increases my faith and my reward. Thank you Lord!




289 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page